In Praise of Parsnips

This morning I was literally running from the gym to an appointment (Ok, it was coffee with my mom) and I needed a superfast breakfast that would deliver protein and carbs and fit into my autoimmune paleo routine. I had something for protein but what to do for the carbs/veggies?

Enter the parsnips sitting in my veggie crisper for about a week.

I knew parsnips were root veggies and I had definitely roasted them before, but today…today I learned something YUMMY about parsnips. They are heavenly if you roast them at high heat. In coconut oil. And himalayan salt. Almost (but not quite) as good as sweet potato fries with the same preparation. But definitely way yummier than I would’ve thunk!

Here’s what a parsnip looks like if you can’t remember:

perfect_parsnips

So you just peel those guys, chop them into chunk pieces (1-2″), coat them in coconut oil, sprinkle with salt and pop them into the oven (I used a toaster oven) BEFORE you preheat the oven at 425. Cook for about 14 minutes and hello heavenly parsnips!

Here I thought I made up this very complicated recipe all by myself, but it turns out others have been smarter than me and sooner. Sigh!

The Domestic Man did a much better job outlining the whole process and actually taking a picture of the parsnips (I gobbled mine up too fast but they looked pretty much exactly like the picture below) – thanks, Domestic Man, for being such a great photographer.

dm_parsnips

So, there you have it. Gluten free, dairy free, autoimmune paleo, and paleo friendly parsnips. Add those guys to your shopping list and give it a whirl – you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

